• G20 was initiated in 1999 and consists of Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Republic of Korea, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, the United Kingdom, the United States and the European Union (EU).
  • Before the outbreak of global financial crisis in 2008, G20 meetings of Finance Ministers and Central Bank Governors were held to discuss international financial and monetary policies, reform of international financial institutions and world economic development.
  • The first G20 Leaders’ Summit was held in 2008 in Washington D.C., United States of America.
  • In September 2009, the Pittsburgh Summit announced G20 as the premier forum for international economic cooperation, marking an important progress in global economic governance reform.
  • The tenth Summit was held in Antalya ,Turkey in November, 2015.
  • Hangzhou in China which was the venue of the 2016 G 20 summit and 2017 venue was Hamburg Germany.