Prelim 996

Which of the following National Parks are also designated as Marine Protected Areas?
1. Campbell Bay
2. Bhitarkanika
3. Sundarbans
4. Rani Jhansi
5. Saddle Peak
Select the correct answer using the code given below.
1, 2 and 5 only
1, 3 and 4 only
2, 3, 4 and 5 only
1, 2, 3, 4 and 5
Explanation :
A marine protected area (MPA) is essentially a space in the ocean where human activities are more strictly regulated than the surrounding waters – similar to parks we have on land. These places are given special protections for natural or historic marine resources by local, state, territorial, native, regional, or national authorities.
Some of are the National Parks also designated as Marine Protected areas: Marine (Gulf of Kachchh), Bhitarkanika, Gulf of Mannar Marine, Sundarbans, Campbell Bay, Galathea, Mahatma Gandhi Marine, Middle Button Island , Mount Harriett , North Button Island, Rani Jhansi , Saddle Peak , South Button Island.