Vehicular Emission Norms under the Bharat Stage emission standards cover which of the following pollutants?
1. Carbon Monoxide (CO)
2. NOx
3. Particular Matter (PM)
4. Ozone
5. Hydrocarbon (HC)
Select the correct answer using the code given below.
1, 2, 3 and 5 only
1, 3 and 4 only
2, 3, 4 and 5 only
2, 4 and 5 only
Explanation :
Following are the pollutants covered under Vehicular Emissions norms under the Bharat Stage emission standards:
Carbon Monoxide (CO)
Particular Matter (PM)
Hydrocarbon (HC)
Bharat Stage emission standards, introduced in 2000, are emission standards that have been set up the Central government to regulate the output of air pollutants from internal combustion engine equipment, including motor vehicles. The different norms are brought into force in accordance with the timeline and standards set up by the Central Pollution Control Board which comes under the Ministry of Environment and Forests and Climate Change. The Bharat Stage norms are based on European regulations.
CO emissions are Carbon Monoxide emissions are are more evident in Petrol engines. Long Term exposure can prevent oxygen transfer and increase headaches/nausea.
HC emissions are Hydrocarbons which are again more prevalent in Petrol engines. Short term exposure can cause headaches, vomiting and disorientation.
NOx emissions are Nitrogen Oxide emissions which are more prevalent in Diesel engines. Long Term exposure can cause Nose and eye irritation and damage lung tissue.
PM is Particulate matter, again more prevalent in a Diesel engine. Long Term exposure can harm the respiratory tract and reduce lung function.