Prelims 233

With reference to the Indian freedom struggle, which one of the following is the correct chronological order of the given events?
Partition of Bengal – Lucknow pact – Surat split of Congress
Partition of Bengal – Surat split of Congress – Lucknow pact
Surat split of Congress – Partition of Bengal – Lucknow pact
Surat split of Congress – Lucknow pact – Partition of Bengal
Explanation :
The decision to effect the Partition of Bengal was announced on 19 July 1905 by the Viceroy of India, Lord Curzon.
The 1907 Surat session was held at the bank of the Tapti river in Surat. The congress met in an atmosphere of anger and resentment in this session. Dr. Rash Behari Ghosh was elected but the extremists had an objection to this election. Initially the extremists dominated the session but soon they accepted Dr. Rash Behari Ghosh as president and offered to cooperate. But the session was suspended. Congress got split.
The Lucknow Session 1916 (presided by A C Majumdar) was special in many respects. Firstly, this session brought the moderates and extremists in Congress on common platform again after nearly a decade, particularly due to efforts of Annie Besant. Secondly, Congress and All India Muslim League signed the historic Lucknow Pact.