Prelim MCQ on regional Orgnisation

Maldives is NOT member of
4. Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA)
Select the correct answer using the code given below:
1, 3 and 4 only
2, 3 and 4 only
2 and 3 only
2 and 4 only
Explanation :
• The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is the regional intergovernmental organization and geopolitical union of nations in South AsiA. Its member states include Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, the Maldives, Pakistan and Sri LankA.
• Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) is a proposed mega-regional FTA involving:
10 member states of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) and 6 other countries that have Free Trade Agreements with the ASEAN i.e. India, China, Japan, South Korea, Australia, New Zealand
The Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) is an international organisation of 7 nations of South Asia and South East Asia, housing 1.5 billion people with 2.5 trillion combined economy. It includes Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Bhutan and Nepal.
• The Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) is a dynamic inter-governmental organisation aimed at strengthening regional cooperation and sustainable development within the Indian Ocean region through its 21 Member States and 7 Dialogue Partners. Maldives is not a member.