Simplified IAS’s Post

India and QUAD Group

About Quad grouping

It is the grouping of 4 countries the USA, India, Japan and Australia.
It took birth after 2004 Tsunami and as a strategic dialogue it was first initiated by Prime Minister of Japan in 2007 but was stalled due to China’s objection and later it was renewed in 2017.
The shared objective of the Quad group is the areas of connectivity and development, regional security, including counter-terrorism and non-proliferation, high availability disaster recovery (HADR) and maritime cooperation.
The ‘quad’ has endorsed a free, open, prosperous and inclusive Indo-Pacific region that isn’t monopolized by a single country.

Advantages of Quad group to India

Act East Policy: It provides India with a platform for the promotion of India’s ‘Act East’ policy, which is the cornerstone of India’s engagement in the Indo-Pacific region.
Strengthening India’s position: India will be able to provide more help and assistance to East Asian countries by making efforts towards resolving issues like South China Sea dispute and North Korean issue, through the quad, this in turn will help India emerge as a regional leader and power.
Counter BRI: The renewedquadrilateral has a potential as a countervailing force to Beijing’s Belt and Road push.
Contain China: It will help India to allay the fear of China’s ‘string of pearls’ in India and to contain china.
Free and open Indo-pacific region: The vision of a peaceful maritime zone can ensure the economic gain through peaceful trade and a free, open, prosperous and inclusive Indo-Pacific
By: via Simplified IAS

One comment