About Western Ghats

About Western Ghats

  • The Western Ghats extends over a distance of approx. 1,500 km from Tapti river in the north to Kanyakumari in the south.
  • It extends along the West Coast of India covering area of 150,000 square kilometres.
  • It is a UNESCO world Heritage site.
  • It is one of the hottest hotspots of biological diversity.
  • The significance of Western Ghats is that along with its rich biodiversity, it also supports a rich environment dependent civilisation of several thousand years.
  • The total area is less than 6% of the land area of India, but contains more than 30% of all plant, fish, fauna, bird, mammal species found in India.
  • It has high proportion of endemic species and supports the life of 7,402 species of flowering plants, 1814 species of non-flowering plants, 139 mammal species, 508 bird species, 179 amphibian species, 6000 insects species and 290 freshwater fish species.
  • The Western Ghats contain numerous medicinal plants and important genetic resources. It is home to diverse social, religious and linguistic groups.
  • Western Ghats perform important hydrological and watershed functions
  • States covering Western Ghats include Maharashtra, Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Kerala and Tamil Nadu.
  • The largest proportion 45% of the area protected with the Western Ghats lies within 19 protected areas in the State of Karnataka.
  • There are four major forest types in Western Ghats:-
  1. Evergreen
  2. Semi- evergreen.
  3. Moist deciduous.
  4. Dry deciduous
Section : Environment & Ecology

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s