About New English School (NES) and About Deccan Education Society (DES)

About New English School (NES):


  • Vishnu Krushna Chiplunkar, who is remembered as the poet of Maharashtra’s nationalist revival for his ornate literary style, quit government service in 1879 and issued a call for the creation of a school run by Indians.
  • Bal Gangadhar ‘Lokmanya’ Tilak, with Mahadev Ballal Namjoshi, volunteered as charter members of the school faculty; they were joined by Gopal Ganesh Agarkar, another great educationist and Tilak’s close friend.
  • The school was Founded in 1880 by educationists and revolutionaries Chiplunkar, Tilak and Agarkar.



  • The establishment of the school was a significant event in the freedom movement.
  • It was not just a beginning of the effort to break the British hold on education, but one that used the English language to imbue nationalist thought.
  • It was started with the objective of ‘cheapening and facilitating education’.
  • There was the zeal of the promoters in making the school successful, and they took far lower salaries than they could have got elsewhere. In a few short years, NES became the biggest school in the Bombay Presidency.



  • The school was co-educational until 1936, when the Deccan Education Society (DES) which had taken over the management by then, moved the girls to its Ahilyadevi High School for Girls.
  • Recently, after 82 years, New English School (NES) has opened its doors to girls once more:


About Deccan Education Society (DES)


  • The founders (Chiplunkar, Tilak, and Agarkar, among others) founded the DES in 1884, with the goal of making education accessible to students by establishing schools and colleges run by Indians across what was then the Bombay Presidency.
  • In 1885, the Society was registered under Societies Registration Act XXI of 1860.



  • To fulfill the set objectives, DES established various educational institutions in Western Maharashtra.
  • DES expanded and since that time several institutions have been created and have been placed under the management of the Society.
  • Among the institutions it founded were Fergusson College, Pune (1885), Willingdon College, Sangli (1919) Brihan Maharashtra College of commerce (1943), Chintamanarao College of Commerce (1960).
Section : History & Culture